The Canary Islands are an archipelago and autonomous community of Spain located in the Atlantic Ocean, 100 kilometers (62 miles) west of Morocco at the closest point. The Canaries are among the outermost regions (OMR) of the European Union proper. It is also one of the eight regions with special consideration of historical nationality recognized as such by the Spanish Government.

The seven main islands are (from largest to smallest in terms of area) Tenerife, Fuerteventura, Gran Canaria, Lanzarote, La Palma, La Gomera and El Hierro. The archipelago includes much smaller islands and islets: La Graciosa, Alegranza, Isla de Lobos, Montaña Clara, Roque del Oeste and Roque del Este. In ancient times, the island chain was often referred to as “the Fortunate Isles”

Capital: Santa Cruz de Tenerife and Las Palmas

Currency: EUR

Timezone: UTC (DST: UTC+1)

Corporate tax rate: 4% in ZEC scheme. Exceeding income: regular tax rate of Spain.

Personal tax rate: 9,5-24%

Capital gains tax: 19-21%

VAT: No VAT. Special sales tax IGIC: 7%

Tax residence: 183 days rule: world income is taxed with some exceptions.

CFC Rules: Yes, CFC rules of Spain apply.

Remote management:

Corporate taxation:

Personal taxation:

Cost of living:

Quality of living:

Safety of living: