Malawi is a landlocked country in southeast Africa that was formerly known as Nyasaland. It is bordered by Zambia to the northwest, Tanzania to the northeast, and Mozambique on the east, south, and west. Malawi is over 118,000 km2 (45,560 sq mi) with an estimated population of 18,091,575 (July 2016 est.). Its capital is Lilongwe, which is also Malawi’s largest city; the second largest is Blantyre, the third is Mzuzu and the fourth largest is its old capital Zomba. The name Malawi comes from the Maravi, an old name of the Nyanja people that inhabit the area. The country is also nicknamed “The Warm Heart of Africa”.

Capital: Lilongwe

Currency: Kwacha

Timezone: UTC+2

Corporate tax rate: 30% (15% or 20% for some priority industries) Territorial tax system, only local income is taxed.

Personal tax rate: 0-35% (15% for non-residents) erritorial tax system, only local income is taxed.

Capital gains tax: 15%

VAT: 16,5%

Tax residence: 183 days rule: income from Malawi is taxed with some exceptions.

CFC Rules: No

Remote management:

Corporate taxation:

Personal taxation:

Cost of living:

Quality of living:

Safety of living: