The United States of America (USA) is a federal republic composed of 50 states, a federal district, five major self-governing territories, and various possessions. At 3.8 million square miles (9.8 million km2) and with over 325 million people, the United States is the world’s third- or fourth-largest country by total area and the third-most populous. The capital is Washington, D.C., and the largest city by population is New York City. Forty-eight states and the capital’s federal district are contiguous and located in North America between Canada and Mexico. The state of Alaska is in the northwest corner of North America, bordered by Canada to the east and across the Bering Strait from Russia to the west. The state of Hawaii is an archipelago in the mid-Pacific Ocean. The U.S. territories are scattered about the Pacific Ocean and the Caribbean Sea, stretching across nine official time zones. The extremely diverse geography, climate, and wildlife of the United States make it one of the world’s 17 megadiverse countries.

Capital: Washingon D.C.

Currency: United States Dollar

Timezone: UTC-4 to UTC-12, +10, +11 (DST: UTC-4 to UTC-10)

Corporate tax rate: Federal: 21% and variable state tax

Personal tax rate: Federal: 7-39,6% and variable state tax

Capital gains tax: 0-20% depending on personal tax level.

VAT: Variable sales taxes in different states.

Tax residence: US citizens and permanent residents are taxed on their worldwide income. A reduced tax applies if they are in the country for less than 30 days. Foreigners are considered a tax resident if they spend more than 31 days in the US in the current year and more than 183 days in the current year and the two preceding years combined.

CFC Rules: Yes

Remote management:

Corporate taxation:

Personal taxation:

Cost of living:

Quality of living:

Safety of living: