Malaysia is a country in Southeast Asia. The federal constitutional monarchy consists of 13 states and three federal territories, separated by the South China Sea into two similarly sized regions, Peninsular Malaysia and East Malaysia (Malaysian Borneo). Peninsular Malaysia shares a land and maritime border with Thailand and maritime borders with Singapore, Vietnam, and Indonesia. East Malaysia shares land and maritime borders with Brunei and Indonesia and a maritime border with the Philippines and Vietnam. Kuala Lumpur is the national capital and largest city while Putrajaya is the seat of federal government.

Capital: Kuala Lumpur

Currency: Ringgit

Timezone: UTC+8

Corporate tax rate: 18-24% (Territorial tax system with exceptions for banking, insurance, air transport and shipping)

Personal tax rate: 0-24% (Territorial tax system, only local sourced income is taxed)

Capital gains tax: None, except for real estate transactions (10-30%)

VAT: Sales tax of 5% or 10% on products or 6% services.

Tax residence: 182 days rule. Additionally, a single day of presence may trigger tax residence if it can be linked to a 181 day stay in another tax year.

CFC Rules: No

Remote management:

Corporate taxation:

Personal taxation:

Cost of living:

Quality of living:

Safety of living: